Laptop keyboard layout are not designed for UNIX and/or its variants

I am convinced that the laptop keyboards are not designed keeping in mind UNIX &/ its variants. Have a look at:

You will notice that the Fn key is housed close to the Ctrl and Alt keys. The F1 and F2 keys are mapped via hardware for system hibernation.

The console and the ttyv1 are accessed by keying in the combination of: Ctrl+Alt +F1, and Ctrl+Alt+F2 respectively. Accidental key press of Fn key instead of Ctrl will send the system to a hibernation state; definitely this is not wanted. This makes me conclude that laptop keyboard layout is not designed to support UNIX &/ its variants.

Wondering which laptop has this problem: Dell Vostro A840. The surprising part is that, this particular laptop was shipped with the factory installed Ubuntu 8 version!

2 Responses to Laptop keyboard layout are not designed for UNIX and/or its variants

  1. diy solar says:

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A number of my blog audience have complained about
    my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

    Like

    • Thanks a lot for the feedback, and do appreciate it.

      Oh yes, I do run into browser related issues. I do test my websites on Links, Arora, Opera, Epiphany, and Seamonkey as well. I do test the webpages on http://validator.w3.org/, do the corrections that are suggested, and then host the page. I do not personally use html5 / flash etc., and stick to plain old html tags.

      Have a look at http://eudaemonicsystems.net, and that is a site that is w3c complaint as well.

      Hope this helps…

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.